10 Things You Might Not Know About Our COM, Molly

I am so excited to have joined the IMBY team this season as the first ever Community Outreach Mentor! The opportunity to influence the development of a program is a thrill and has allowed me to put so many of the ethical community engagement practices I’ve spent years studying into action. I thought I would start off the season by giving you a peek into who I am and what has brought me here! So, here are 10 things you might not have known about me (Unless my mom is reading this, in which case, hi Mom!).

  1. I have just completed my first year of graduate school in the Museology program at the University of Washington. It was challenging, yet rewarding and I can’t wait to see what next year holds!
  2. I decided I wanted to work in museums while sitting in the back of a rickety taxi whizzing through the streets of Kathmandu, Nepal. I had just interviewed a woman who ran a Nepali photo collective and had managed to talk about social justice issues through photos in a way that was beautiful and meaningful. It was here that I realized I could merge my creative and academic passions through museum work.

    IMG_1192 (1)

    In Hue, Vietnam, AKA the hottest place I’ve ever been.

  3. If you couldn’t tell by #2, travelling through Southeast Asia is one of my greatest passions. Over the last 4 years I have spent time in Nepal, India, Bhutan, Singapore, Thailand, Cambodia, and Vietnam. The next trip I am planning is to visit my best friend from college in Laos!
  4. What I want more than anything right now is a dog, but my tiny apartment, allergic boyfriend, and busy schedule have made it difficult. For now I pet every dog I see and take care of virtual cats on an app on my phone.
  5. I can’t get enough of mountains. Growing up in Ohio, everything is FLAT. There is the occasional gorge and man-made lake but nothing close to a mountain. Whenever the sky is clear enough to see the mountains in Seattle I spend as much of my day staring at them as I can. I also hope to climb a few.
  6. I could probably recite entire episodes of The Office to you from memory while wearing one of my The Office themed t-shirts.
  7. My favorite National Park that I have ever been to is Glacier National Park and I am itching to get back there and do some backcountry hikes.
  8. I used to intern for the Dayton Society of Natural History where I helped repair/rebuild archaeological reconstructions at Sunwatch Indian Village. Here I learned how to build a dugout, cut down trees, and thatch a roof. My supervisor there was one of my biggest supporters while I was applying to graduate programs. Thanks, Bill!
  9. The thing I miss most about Ohio, other than my family, is a little spot called Bachelor Pond where I used to hike, poke frogs, and look for turtles.

    IMG_0149

    My happy place, Bachelor Pond.

  10. I believe deeply that spaces which share our histories, such as parks and museums, have the power to shape our collective consciousness and that power must be used ethically. I feel so lucky to work with a group of individuals that shares this mindset and I can’t wait to keep moving forward to develop a sustainable, reciprocal, and intentional outreach program!

Leave a Reply

