Meet Sierra!

P1040267Hi there! I’m Sierra, and I’m a 20-year-old senior at Seattle University, studying Humanities for Teaching and French. I’m a lifelong Pacific Northwest Resident – I’m most comfortable wearing flannel in a rainy forest drinking fair-trade coffee and listening to mellow acoustic jams – but all joking aside, I love it here and I’m super excited to be a part of the In My Backyard team this quarter!

Where do you hail from?
Southeast Portland, Oregon, next to a suburb called Happy Valley.

What are your top 3 places to visit (outdoor or indoor)?

  1. Killarney National Park, Ireland
  2. Shakespeare and Co. bookstore in Paris, France
  3. Camp Howard in Corbett, Oregon

Where in the world is your ideal travel destination?
EVERYWHERE. But right now I really want to go Scotland. Or back to France. I can’t pick, don’t make me.

What did you want to be growing up?
A ballerina, an actress, a writer, or an artist. Or some kind of flying girl with superpowers; I had a lot of aspirations.

Favorite breakfast food item?
Toasted everything bagel with butter.

Strangest food you have ever consumed?
In France, my host mom served me stingray. It tasted like a bland white fish. But she also served me snails, which were delicious!

What are your favorite things to do outside?
I like being near water in any way, so swimming is at the top of my list. I also love exploring/hiking, taking pictures, and hanging out with my dog.

What is your go-to song to sing in the shower? Which song always makes you cry or melancholy?
I don’t have a go-to, but my current shower song is Furr by Blitzen Trapper, or anything by Lorde. Promise by Ben Howard always makes me melancholy, and if I’m listening to it while I’m not in the Pacific Northwest, it makes me homesick.

What is your fondest memory you have of your backyard?
I grew up with a huge forest behind me, so I remember going on a lot of forest walks with my parents and dog, and getting burned by stinging nettle a bunch. I used to like making “nature nests” with my best friend when I was little – we’d gather up rocks and twigs and things and make little structures for our stuffed animals to play in.

Leave a Reply

